Friday, May 31, 2013

Cover Reveal: Heart Strings by Heather Gunter

Our very own, and very talented, Heather Gunter is currently working on book two in the Love Notes series, Heartstrings and today we get a sneak peak of the amazing cover!! 


Heartstrings is Tori and Will's story and is currently due for release mid August.


Everyone thinks of me as this happy and upbeat person. What they don't know, is that I carry a deep, dark secret. Something horrible happened to me a year ago, and I have kept it quiet all this time. I was fine for a while, but somehow it’s chosen this time to come back, and it's eating at me--like a cancer.

I need to tell someone about it, I just don't know how. I'm pushing everyone I love away, including my mom and my best friend Charlie.

Then there is Will. Handsome, sweet Will. We went out on a date a while back, but then the incident happened leaving me crushed and him confused.

How do you tell someone you care about all of your secrets, and will they still want you when the truth comes out?






When not writing or updating her Into the Night Reviews book blog, you will find Heather curled on the couch reading, surrounded by her children and four dogs. Her cravings for music and books are insatiable. One of her favorite things to do is sing and used to have a dream of becoming a singer. The dream has since changed and is now to become a full time writer. She holds a strong anti-bullying conviction and voices it regularly. This is her second book in the Love Notes series. She resides in Canton, GA with her husband, 3 boys, 4 dogs, 1 cat and 2 ferrets.

Cover Reveal: All Wrapped Up by Braxton Cole



All Wrapped Up
Release date: July 1
By: Braxton Cole
All Wrapped Up is Book Two in The List Series.

Mari and Luca continue to work through their list of sexual fantasies in All Wrapped Up, Book Two in The List Series. They've abandoned their original plan of no strings attached and, for the most part, Mari's learning to be okay with it. She definitely likes Luca's strings (and whatever else he might use to restrain her), but she's not sure she's ready to take the next step in their relationship. Luca, sweet, strong, commanding Luca, insists that it's time to move in together. Mari insists it's time to relax and enjoy what they share without complicating things. 
With every moment they spend together, Luca shows Mari how good they could be together. Will Mari run away from her emotions, or does Luca have her all wrapped up?
All Wrapped Up is a novella length erotic romance and contains mature adult themes, including graphic and explicit sex.

Braxton Cole lives in the Pacific Northwest where she spends most of her time holed up in her office writing stories. When she's not writing, she can be found riding her bike, hiking the fabulous local trails, chasing her kids, or wishing that her thumb was a little more green. She has a bad habit of killing what she tries to grow, but hasn't given up hopes of one day being a successful urban farmer.
Braxton writes erotic romance because romance is the stuff that makes life great, and sex is fun. The two belong together, both in life and in fiction.


Facebook | Website | Twitter | Goodreads



Book 1 in The List Series - Birthday Wishes has had a cover makeover too!
Mari meets Luca on an adult website. She’s still smarting from a divorce and only looking to explore her desires. They create wish lists of their sexual fantasies and agree to work through them together. No strings, no attachments, nothing but pleasure, and Mari anticipates their first meeting with impatience. But through a miscommunication involving a private text message and Mari’s nosy brother, Luca ends up at her 30th birthday party, before their planned rendezvous. Much to her surprise, they seem to connect better than she expected, and in ways she hadn’t expected. He’s strong, commanding, but also gentle and respectful and he makes her ache in ways she never thought possible.
But when Luca later expresses a desire for something more than just casual sex, Mari's impulse is to run the other way. After all, her failed marriage is evidence that she really shouldn’t go much deeper. Can Luca convince Mari otherwise? Can he help her see that he's her ultimate birthday wish come true?
Birthday Wishes is Book 1 in The List Series is intended for an adult audience only and contains mature themes, including graphic and explicit sex.
Buy Birthday Wishes from Amazon



  

Release Day Event and Giveaway: Change of Heart by S.E. Edwards




We're so excited to be part of the Release Day event for Change of Heart by S.E. Edwards.  Check out the book summary and excerpt below and then pick up a copy from Amazon or Barnes and Noble or add it to your TBR.

In celebration of the release of Change of Heart there is also an incredible giveaway - enter at the bottom of the post.




Persevere.

That's how I've gotten through nineteen years of life. It's what I do every single day--no matter how badly the odds are stacked against me.

Persevere, and survive.

Those are my two guiding words. I never knew either of my parents. I have no family and no home. The only person I could ever rely on was myself. In this cruel world, that's about as much as I can ask for.

Love? Hah. Don't talk to me about love. I stopped believing in it the day my first boyfriend ripped out my heart three years ago.

That's why love is the last thing on my mind when I leave a packed college bar with a captivating stranger. Yet everything changes when I'm awakened in the middle of the night by a pounding at the door. Suddenly, an arrangement meant for just one night threatens to become something much deeper.

All expectations are thrown to the wind as I'm tangled in a dangerous world unlike anything I can believe. The man I met has secrets swirling around him like a dark cape. I'm about to become his biggest one...



Together, we stumble toward the elevator. Rich breaks away for a second to hit the button. The light doesn’t come on.

“Damn,” he growls, “it’s busted again.”

I’m one step ahead of him. I’d spotted the stairs when we entered. I grab his hand and pull him after me with no hesitation. I start up the cement stairwell, determined to get to his room as fast as possible.

“Penny, wait.”

I look back, confused. “What?”

A devilish smile plays on his lips. “Only this.” Without warning his hands wrap around my waist, and I’m  being lifted up as easily as if I were a doll. He turns to the side and presses my body against the wall, suspending me between him and the concrete.

His mouth crashes down on mine again. I curl my legs around his torso, locking my ankles together, and kiss him back with the passion reserved for a lover after ten long years apart. I didn’t think it was possible, but I’m getting even more turned on. Rich’s hands move down to grasp the outside of my thighs, and I moan into his kiss as the muscles of my core clench in sinful fashion. I want him so badly. If we don’t get somewhere private soon, I won’t be wholly opposed to jumping him in public.

I gasp as he steps away, freeing me from the wall. I start to fall, but one of his hands darts down to catch me just beneath the knees.  The other one cradles my shoulders. Before I know it, I’m slung across his arms like a bride on her wedding night.

“I’ve always wanted to carry a girl up these stairs,” Rich admits.

I laugh, and wrap my arm around his neck. “Oh, you are just the best type of romantic.”

Four flights of stairs later, Rich pushes open the fire door to a dimly-lit hallway. He carries me down the hall and stops in front of an entrance on the right. He sets me down, then fishes around in his jeans for the key. When the door creaks open, he sweeps a hand out in front of him. “Welcome to my humble abode.”

I walk in, curious about his apartment. I tend to side with the camp of people who believe that a person’s living arrangements can reveal a lot about his personality. But, I don’t find much to work with here.

The apartment is sparse and dark. Pale moonlight filters in through the balcony window, shining down on the only piece of furniture present: a queen size mattress lying on the floor of the living room. The red brick walls are totally empty—no girly posters or other things I might expect in a bachelor’s apartment. There are no lamps, no chairs, no couches.

After a moment, I notice a second piece of furniture: a small, old-school CRT TV camped in one corner of the studio apartment.

Rich switches on the light. “So?” he asks, “what do you think?”

I walk past the entrance. There’s one hall leading away from the room. It is filled with brown cardboard boxes. Lots and lots of boxes. “Did you just move in or something?”

Rich laughs behind me. “Yeah, something like that. You want a drink?”

“A drink?” I say. “No, I—”

The words catch in my throat as he grabs my hips and spins me around. I had no idea he’d come so close. He’d moved from the door to me without making a sound. His fingers lock together against my lower back, and he tugs me into him, pressing my belly to his waist. I feel his growing erection right away, and a diabolical excitement builds inside me.

Nothing happens.

For a long moment, Richard just holds me like that, staring into my eyes as I’m left dangling off his arms. His irises are the color of sea mist. I’m hypnotized by the deep intensity I see brewing just beneath the surface. I have no doubt that that type of intensity is mirrored in my eyes.

Then, moving slowly, as if restraining himself, Richard lowers his mouth to cover mine. This time, his kiss is sweet and gentle. Subtle and caring. He explores my upper lip first, then traces the line going to the corner of my mouth. His lips form a perfect mold over mine.

I was wrong before. This is the kiss reserved for a lover you haven’t seen in ten years.

I'm Scarlett Edwards.  I'm a full-time student (2nd year, undergrad) and part-time writer.  I hope to switch those around soon!

I'm kind of old fashioned. I write all my stories using paper and ink. At the end of the day, I transcribe them on my laptop. It takes a bit longer, but writing in a notebook really focuses my thoughts.

I love vintage photography. I have an old-school film camera that was my mom's from before I was born. I use it to take pictures almost every day.

Yours to Savor is the first full book I worked on.  It went through six drafts, and took me ten months to complete.  In the two months since getting it done, I finished two drafts of brand new stories.  I'm getting faster!

I take inspiration from all the indie romance authors. Addison Moore, Samantha Young, Colleen Hoover, Jessica Sorensen, and everyone else…. you girls rock!

I love hearing from my readers. I love getting feedback about my books. I'm just getting started, and plan on doing this writing gig for a long, long time.  If you read my book and want to share your thoughts, good or bad, email me!  Scarlett@ScarlettEdwards.com.  I'll be sure to reply!! <3









5 signed paperbacks (open internationally)
2 $50 GCs (gift cards)


Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Cover Reveal and Excerpt: Beside Your Heart by Mary Whitney



Into the Night Reviews is thrilled to be part of the Cover Reveal for Beside Your Heart by Mary Whitney, due for release June 18.  Keep your eye out for the Blog Tour!



Genre: New Adult Romance
Publish Date: June 17, 2013
Event organized by: Literati Literature Lovers



"It's an emotional story that will take the reader back to those feelings that made the late teen years such a powerful time."

Late one night Nicki Johnson plays with emotional fire and Googles her high school love, only to find his name splashed across the British gossip columns. Back in his native England, Adam Kincaid is successful and dating a woman from an aristocratic family like his own. With a career in politics, Nicki’s no slouch, but she knows Adam is living a world away from her life. Yet there was a time he was no farther than the next locker. Nicki will never forget their year together in high school—the year of her sister’s death, the year her mother checked out. Adam helped Nicki through suffocating grief, and she led him through a coming of age. Was it just high school, or was it something more?





“No British literature. Isn’t this supposed to be an English class?” Adam asked.
“Uh.” My ancestors would’ve been proud of the jolt of American patriotism that hit me.  “There was a revolution two hundred years ago. We write our own books now.”
He leaned back in his seat with a smile. “I think I heard about that.”
“We still share the same language.”
“Sometimes I’m not too sure.”
“I bet not.” I could imagine what he thought of a Texas accent.
 He picked up the list of books again. “What about Catcher in the Rye?”
“I read it a long time ago when I was, like, eleven.” I laughed a little as I remembered how I’d first come to read it.
“Is there something funny about that?”
“Yeah. My father had suggested I read it then. The book is the classic coming-of-age story. Clearly, he wasn’t really thinking about whether or not it was appropriate for an eleven-year-old.”
“Really? Why?”
“Well, for one thing, the main character is a guy who swears a lot.”
“I suppose I swear a lot.” He cracked a sly smile. “At least compared to you Yankees.”
“Yankees? You’re in the South.” I laughed.
“What else is inappropriate about the book? Now I’m interested. It can’t only be a few swear words.”
“No, it’s not just that. It’s…” I hesitated for a moment as I realized I was about to bring up the topic of sex with Adam Kincaid. What the hell, I thought. I should be matter-of-fact about it. He had a girlfriend and would never want anything with me. I could hide I thought he was hot, so I shrugged. “Holden, the main character…he’s a little sexually frustrated.”
His eyes twinkled, and it felt as if my words hung in the air. I wanted to squirm in my seat. ‘Sexually frustrated’—like me checking out Adam Kincaid.
His proper upbringing showed again as he sidestepped the issue, yet he smirked. “That sounds like an adventurous book to be on an American high school syllabus.”
“Like I said—it’s considered an American classic.” I laughed. “I guess some things are sacred.”
“But of course.” The gleam appeared in his eye again, and he turned toward me in his seat. “Teenage sexual frustration is sort of a rite of passage, if you will.”
There went the good-English-boy manners out the window. His tone, the look in his eye, his body language—was he flirting with or taunting me? I decided the former was impossible, and if the latter, I wasn’t going to back down. With two parents who were lawyers, debate was a family routine.
“A rite of passage? More like a biological fact, isn’t it?” I asked, casually clicking my pen. I raised a brow. “Especially for guys.”
“You’re right about that,” he said with a grin.
His eyes shifted downward, and I could feel him give me a once-over. I wondered what he thought. I was no Meredith, but I had enough self-confidence to know I wasn’t butt-ugly either—even with my scars. I couldn’t tell, but he’d distracted me so much, I jumped when I heard Mrs. Anderson ask, “Your name, dear?"
 

Even before she graduated from law school, Mary knew she wasn't cut out to be a real lawyer. Drawn to politics, she's spent her career as an organizer, lobbyist, and nonprofit executive. Nothing piques her interest more than a good political scandal or romance, and when she stumbled upon writing, she put the two together. A born Midwesterner, naturalized Texan, and transient resident of Washington, D.C., Mary now lives in Northern California with her two daughters and real lawyer husband.





Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Cover Reveal: Life Altering Beautiful by T. A. Hardenbrook



Scheduled Release Date: 15 August, 2013

*Disclaimer* This book contains foul language and sex; however if you enjoy that kind of thing then your in for a treat! Happy reading!
 

 
Keeping secrets is easy; not falling in love is the hard part. Running away from her past Seven was bound and determined to make a new life. She moved halfway across the country to a school where she hoped to fly under the radar. What could possibly go wrong if she just kept her life quiet?

Stone has no interest in commitment. Dating always seemed to lead to broken promises and heartbreak, keeping it simple was easier on everyone. But then in the middle of his crazy world he meets this girl, and somehow the universe aligns leaving him wanting more. How can he make her see that it’s okay to trust again; how does he combine his two lives and make both of them worthy enough to be with her?

If love is all that someone needs, then why are there so many broken souls in this world? Can one individual really make a change for the better and make peace within themselves and others? When two souls collide can they save each other?
 
 
 
 
Facebook
 
 

Monday, May 27, 2013

Cover Reveal: Forever Breathing by Heather Allen



Book Three in the Just Breathe Series
Scheduled for release:  15 July 2013

Synopsis

Ever Harding has finally found where she belongs, with Jack in the sea. Just when she thought she could start her new life, a new threat forms on the horizon. She must make her biggest choice yet. Is she willing to risk everything to save the love of her life and all she holds dear?

James discovers yet again that his purpose is greater than anything he could ever imagine. He thought he had it all figured out, but sometimes things can be very deceiving. Is he willing to stand up for all he believes is right?

In the final book of the ‘Just Breathe’ trilogy, Ever and James find themselves not against each other but fighting together to preserve the freedoms of others. Will they be able to defend the right to choose when the odds are hugely against them?





Connect with the Author

Add Just Breathe on Goodreads
Add Barely Breathing on Goodreads



Purchase Links:


Just Breathe:            Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords
Barely Breathing:   Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords

Cover Reveal & Chapter 1 Sneak Peak: Take it All by Emma Grayson


 
 
Title: Take It All
Author: Emma Grayson
Expected Release Date:  August 4, 2013
Genre: New Adult Romance

Judy Garland said it best, ‘For it was not into my ear you whispered but into my heart. It was not my lips you kissed but my soul.’

If you asked her why she loved him, she would only be able to tell you it was because he was who he was and well, she was who she was.

Plain and simple.

All her life Lennox Ward felt incomplete. That her heart was always searching for that one special thing; that special someone she had yet to find.

Then Caleb Kingston came strolling back into her life unexpectedly, and little did she know her world was about to come crashing down around her; forever shattering it.

Is love enough to conquer all?

Will she be able to lead them out of hell and off their path of self destruction?

Or will Caleb take it all?
 

*** This story is based on true, real life events ***

Chapter One

He bent over and softly placed his lips on the tip of her nose, just as he had done for as long as she could remember. “I’ll be back,” he whispered quietly, hesitating before finally pulling away.
Their eyes met, and she knew, she could see the familiar distance in them just as she saw only a couple months before. But this time was going to be different. Unlike the last time, she wouldn’t know where to go or what to do. She wouldn’t be able to search for him and take him by the hand, and guide him away.
His eyes slowly moved from hers as he turned and walked towards the door, only to stop a moment, lingering in the doorway like he was second guessing his decision. She slowly sat up, hoping his mind had changed, but her hope quickly vanished as he continued out the door and into the hall.
She watched him through her window, walking down the brightly lit hall, knowing it would be the last time she ever saw him. That it would be the last time she’d hear his voice, the last time his fresh, yet smoky, scent filled her nose. She knew it would be the last time she’d feel her body come to life, ignited like a flame, from the touch of his lips on hers while the warmth of his breath delicately canvassed her body.
He didn’t have to say it; she could sense it, just like she’d done before. Only this time, the gut twisting feeling she got when he spoke, told her what he couldn’t say, and the unspoken words in his eyes. His azure colored eyes that still had a way of making her knees weak and heart slam against her chest, all the while small sparks of electricity soared through her body, all with a single simple look.
Lennox sat there in her room. Dazed, as the numbness slowly crept up and through her body, into her heart and soul, as the voice in her head spoke in loud volumes, telling her over and over, the things she didn’t want to believe. Her eyes, still fixated on his back, watching as he became further and further away; almost out of sight.
She swallowed, trying to rid the dryness that made it hard to breathe. Her mouth finally unfroze and her lips parted. “Caleb,” she spoke quietly, meaning for it to sound louder, so he could hear the gut wrenching pain that filled her normally soft voice, and he’d come back to her. But all that sounded was a whisper ending with a small sob.
He was her all, he’d always be her all, and she knew it the day he unexpectedly walked back into her life. That moment, when their eyes met, she knew they were made for one another, that they were meant to be. They were each other’s missing piece and he found her, in all his gorgeous gratifying glory, grabbing her by the hand, and her entire heart and soul.
Together Lennox and Caleb went places. Places she never, in her life, thought she’d ever go. The things she saw and witnessed are of things no one should have to see or speak of again, because once was enough. His path took them on a journey through hell, right to the burning pit, where, when given the chance to leave, she stayed and fought for him, and a way back.
She did things along the way that she’s not proud of. Things she’ll never be able to forgive herself for, unthinkable things that changed her demeanour and relationships with the people in her life. Lennox, being the typical girl next door, would never, in a million years, do what she did but when it came to Caleb, she’d do anything.
Through it all Lennox lost a lot along the way, important things. But at the time nothing was more important than Caleb and her being together. They learned once that not being together was more toxic then actually being together. So, in her mind, there wasn’t a doubt, or voice, telling her she made the wrong choice five months earlier, when he walked through the doors of Fizzy Wigs; a local cafe in Spruce Hill.
The scary part was, after knowing everything and going through all they went through, Lennox, given the chance to do so, would go back and do it all over; not changing a damn thing.
She continued to watch him walk away, rounding the corner, and disappearing from her sight without a glance back. The breath she didn’t know she’d been holding rushed out, as if someone came up to her, and punched her in the stomach. It was then she realized it hadn’t been enough, none of it was.
And even more heartbreakingly so, neither was she.
At that moment realization hit, and she was on her way back to hell, only this time she was going alone, and the battle out was a far bigger challenge then the last.
With her eyes still on the last place she saw him, silently wishing him to come back, a man in a white coat obstructed her view. Blinking, she looked up at him, his face unreadable as he looked down at the clipboard in his somewhat feminine hands. When he finished flipping through the white sheets of paper, his eyes lifted and met hers.
He witnessed, through her eyes, her world crumble and shatter around her, leaving nothing but an empty, hollow shell in its place.
 “Ms Ward....” he said carefully, making note of how delicate and fragile she looked.
Lennox sat there looking at nothing but dead air and the small dust particles as they fluttered around, the room was silent, and she didn’t even hear when the man spoke. It was as if someone had muted real life.
Her mind was on only one thing.
Caleb.
When he left her there in her room, he knew he wasn’t leaving alone, that he was taking her with him, maybe not physically, but in every other way possible. It was more than a piece of her he took, it was more than a part of her, it was every piece.
Every. Single. Fucking. Piece.
And she let him.
“Ms Ward, did you hear what I just said?” the man’s comforting voice echoed through the room.
Lennox shook her head, pushing the thoughts aside, as she looked up at him, and watched his lips move as he repeated the words that not only sent icy waves through her already numb body, but caused what little was left of her world to shatter.
And that’s when it happened, that’s when she began to drown. Drowning in memories, like a surfer in a wild tidal wave, as the gates opened and everything from the past five months came flooding back.

Emma Grayson is a Canadian author who resides outside of Edmonton, Alberta with her family and five year old son.

She is currently working on Take it All, book one in her new series, Blinded by Love, as well as Unbearable Guilt, book two in her Breathe Again series.

When she’s not writing she enjoys time with her son, going to movies, reading, or enjoying Starbucks latte’s with her girlfriends. She’s the lover of music, television, all things purple, Oilers hockey and doesn’t leave the house without her iPhone, Kobo, flip flops or a pack of gum.
 

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Blog Tour Stop and Giveaway: Love Notes by Heather Gunter


Title: Love Notes
Author: Heather Gunter
Genre:  YA Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 2, 2013


How do you cope when the people you care for hurt you the most? When the way you feel on the outside, smothers you on the inside. And when you are left to face your demons alone, will you learn that only you have the power to overcome them? Charlie has never had it easy. Between the constant moving and the incessant fat comments and jokes from her father, her self-worth is nonexistent. Her reflection in the mirror shows her nothing but a plain Jane. Music is the only thing that keeps her sanity in check. Charlie catches the eye of the town star quarterback, Maverick. With her curves, her brunette hair, and the voice of an angel, Maverick has never met anyone like her. Everything that is different about Charlie just makes Maverick like her more. Unfortunately, Charlie doesn’t see it herself. Proving it to her may deem harder than he thinks, especially when tragedy strikes and tears them apart. Now standing on her own two feet she may finally learn exactly who she is, what’s she’s capable of and how very un plain Jane she really is.









I'm pressed firmly against him and place my hand on the hardness of his muscled chest. The nearness of him is intoxicating. My heart speeds up with the knowledge of what is inevitably going to happen next. Right now, I don't care how long I've known him or what the usual rules of dating dictate.

We are staring at each other eye to eye. “I’m going to kiss you now Charlie,” Maverick whispers.

At that moment, all I can do is nod. No words were going to be coming out of this mouth; it was going to be used for other things.


Maverick moves his arms from around my waist, gently cups my face with his hands and tips my head back some. He places his lips on mine, and it was as if time stood still. His kiss starts out oh so slowly, and as we find our rhythm, it begins to increase in pressure and intensity. My arms, having a mind of their own, begin to wrap around his neck and pull him even closer, although I'm not sure how that is even possible. I honestly didn’t think we could get any closer together than we already were. Maverick kisses me like I am everything, like I was his last dying breath. I have never been kissed like this before.

I finally draw away from him to catch my breath. “That was…”

Maverick looks me in the eyes. “Wow.”


 
 
   


Maverick – it’s a pleasure to meet you.  I absolutely loved reading Charlie and your story. 

So what was it about Charlie that first caught your eye?
Her eyes! She had the most incredible blue eyes, I’d ever seen.

If you had to describe Charlie in a few words, what would they be?
Beautiful, caring and funny hands down!

When did you know that you’d fallen in love with Charlie?
I knew that I had feelings for her when she was asked to come up to the front of the class and talk about herself. I knew for sure when I was over at her house for the very first time and her dad made the inappropriate comment that pissed me off. I felt a protectiveness that I’d never felt and knew I never wanted anyone to hurt her ever again.

I loved the note and rose left on her car – are you a bit of a romantic, and what other sweet things like that have you done for Charlie?
You’ve got to remember that I live with parents that can’t keep their hands off of each other and it’s all I’ve ever known. I’ve had a good example and I don’t know any other way to be. My dad’s always doing nice things for my mom.

I try to be spontaneous and surprise Charlie with special dates. It’s important that she always have some surprises in her life and always feel special and important. I never want her to question anything about our relationship.
 
What’s your favorite thing to do to relax?
Go to our spot at the lake with Charlie and relax.

Will has clearly got it bad for Tori – what’s the story with those two, do you think they’ll get together?
I honestly don’t know what the story is between these two, but they clearly have it bad for one another. I’d like to think that one day they’ll finally get over whatever it is and be together. I think they compliment each other well.

Do you have a favorite saying or motto in life?
Always be kind, honest and true to yourself. Something my parent’s have always instilled in me. Also the Golden Rule: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Okay – so just to get a little bit more insight to you – pick one of the following:
- Football or Baseball?     football hands down but I do love baseball
- Home Cooked Meals or Fast Food?     home cooked meals, my mom’s an awesome cook!
- Beer or Soda?     I don’t drink. I have no use for it. Soda
- Sleeping in or Staying up late?      staying up late
- Summer or Winter?     Summer, I get to see Charlie in a bathing suit for the first time. I’m a guy, what can I say?
- Facebook or Twitter?     I don’t do either. All of the important people in my life, I talk to daily. No need for social media.
Maverick thanks again for taking the time and sharing with us – it’s been an absolute pleasure!


So Heather, thank you so much for taking the time out for this interview.

Let’s start with, what was your inspiration for Love Notes?

I always wanted to write a book but I wanted to write one that was as relatable as possible. One that someone could walk away from feeling not so quite alone and feel better for having read it. I’m sure this sounds crazy, but I wanted to inspire someone. Not sure I accomplished it but I’m so glad I wrote it!

There’s some great messages in Love Notes, what is the one thing you really want readers to take from it?
That nobody can make you feel good about yourself but you. I want girls to know that not a boy or a friend can make you feel good. Sure they can help but this is an internal thing and that it takes time. You are the only one that defines your self-worth!

What was the biggest frustration (or biggest achievement) during the writing process?
I made so many mistakes; mechanical ones. I learned a lot through this process, mistakes that won’t ever be repeated and some that I’m sure I will.

My biggest achievement was writing a scene and knowing deep down that I put my heart and soul into it. I like to think that people who’ve read it can feel certain scenes and chapters that were very heavy on my heart while writing it.

We hear stories about how some writers have to have certain things or be in certain places to get their writing mojo on – what are the things you have to have to able to write productively?
My iPod no doubt! I am a music person. I was a singer long ago and it’s still a huge part of my life as well as my writing process. When I write I have a huge cup of coffee and my Beat headphones on my head. I’m in lala land when I write. Oh and the oddest thing is I write better when I get up, take a shower and am dressed with make-up on. Go figure! No pajama bottoms for me like some Author’s.

We know that Heart Strings is coming next – can you give us any insight into Tori and Will’s story?
Tori’s story is darker and based on an actual experience. Tori and Will went out on a date one time and an incident happened leaving him confused and Tori forever scarred!

I know you are a passionate reader and supporter of authors/books – what would you say is your book/author of the moment?
I just finished reading a book called Falling for Hadie by Komal Kant that hit me hard and was powerful as hell. It made me cry, laugh and think. I love books that make me think! I will forever love Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A Tucker. I have a tattoo of TTB on my wrist as a reminder. Powerful story that will always be my #1 favorite!

If you had to describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Loyal, sarcastic & funny

What about your family, how would they describe you?
My husband might say that I’m a pain in the ass but he would also say that I love fiercely and that I’m very protective of family and friends. If I’m your friend, I’m in it 100%!

I asked my kids this question and this was their responses:
Gabe said he would describe me as pretty, nice, loving and smart
Lucas-funny
Jacob-helpful, loving

Okay – so just to get a little bit more insight to you – pick one of the following:
- Paperback or e-book?     I love a paperback but I love the convenience of an e-book
- White, Milk or Dark chocolate?     Milk chocolate
- White or Red wine?     Depends on the mood, I love a good red wine
- Sleeping in or Staying up late?     staying up late
- Summer or Winter?     summer
- Facebook or Twitter?     Facebook

Heather thanks again for taking the time and sharing with us!


When not writing or updating her Into the Night Reviews book blog, you will find Heather curled on the couch reading, surrounded by her children and four dogs. Her cravings for music and books are insatiable. One of her favorite things to do is sing and she used to have a dream of becoming a singer. The dream has since changed and is now to become a full time writer. She holds a strong anti-bullying conviction and voices it regularly. She resides in Canton, GA with her husband, three boys, four dogs, one cat and two ferrets.


3 Signed paperbacks | 10 e-book’s | $25 amazon giftcard